Frequently Asked Questions
PDE - FAQs
– this is an excellent resource for questions related to Level I and Level
II certification, applying for a name change, keeping instructional
certificates active, etc.
ETS/Praxis – FAQs
– In addition to info on preparing for the test, registration, scores,
etc., ETS offers a Top 10 list of FAQs.
How do I know what specific subjects my PA certificate qualifies me to
Check out the descriptions for each certification area under the
Certification Staffing Policies Guidelines (CSPG)
Instructional I to Instructional II Q &
1) When does my PA
Instructional I expire?
After Six years teaching in a Pennsylvania Public School.
Can my Instructional I be renewed?
No, it must be converted to an Instructional II. If your
Instructional I expires you will not be able to teach in Pennsylvania.
3) What if I am not in
PA, will my Instructional I expire after 6 years?
No, the clock is only ticking when you are teaching in a PA public school.
4) What does it take to
convert my Instructional I to an Instructional II?
Completion of 3 years of
satisfactory service in a Pennsylvania Public School (note: the three
satisfactory years does not have to be with the same school district).
completion of a School Induction Program (most schools provide this to
their teachers in their first year of teaching).
24 earned credits
of Post-baccalaureate (with at least 6 of these in the content area that
you are currently certified in). Also note that these must be from a
4 year college or University, community college credits will NOT count.
Credits in Law, Medicine and Theology will not count toward these required
Where do I apply
for my Instructional II?
Go to the PA Department of Education and log in
TIMS account. Begin a new application and select
Instructional II for type of certification.
Act 48 Q & A:
1) Is Act 48 the same as
Instructional I to II?
No, Act 48 is continuing professional education required for teachers
holding PA certification.
2) How many Act 48 hours do I
need for each 5 year window?
Six credits of college level study; six credits of PDE approved continuing
Ed; or 180 hours of continuing Ed. Note: Each semester collegiate
credit is equal to 30 continuing education hours and each quarter
collegiate credit is equal to 20 continuing Ed hours.
3) I heard that Act 48 was put
on hold; is that true?
and No- Yes there was a 2 year hold placed in 2011 which means all
educators were given 2 extra years to complete the hours. No,
because you were able to accumulate hours during this period.
4) If I am not in PA do I
still need to do Act 48?
Yes, Unlike Instructional I time clock, the Act 48 five year cycle clock
begins ticking upon graduation and does not stop regardless of where you
currently are located.
5) So If I am not in PA is there a way to stop the Act 48 5
year cycle clock?
Yes, you can file a voluntary inactive form with PDE which will keep your
license valid until you return to PA and re-activate. When you
re-activate you will have to complete some ACT 48 hours prior to the
certificate becoming valid again.
6) Can I log Act 48 hours for college credits or workshops
outside of PA?
Yes, to do so you will need to have the providing institution complete
paperwork and submit it to PDE for their review.
7) Where can I check my Act 48 status