February 26, 2008

Grove City advances to semifinals

GROVE CITY, Pa. -- The Grove City College men's basketball team advanced to the semifinals of the Presidents' Athletic Conference Championship Tournament by virtue of an 88-73 home victory over Waynesburg Tuesday night in a PAC quarterfinal at the Grove City College Arena. Grove City, the No. 2 seed in the tournament, improves to 17-9 overall. Seventh-seeded Waynesburg finishes the season at 8-17.

Five Grove City players scored in double figures, led by senior guard Shawn Carr (New Castle, Pa./Mohawk) with 24 points. Carr also added a team-high seven rebounds and five assists. Freshman center Kris Verderber (Chagrin Falls, Ohio/Kenston) added 11 points while sophomore center Andy O'Keefe (Perry, Ohio/Perry), junior guard Ryan Gibson (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover) and senior Ryan Gerber (Baltic, Ohio/Garaway) all chipped in 10 points each.

Grove City shot 59 percent (31 of 53) from the field, including a 16-for-26 (62 percent) effort in the second half. Defensively, Grove City limited Waynesburg to just 37 percent (23 of 61) shooting.

Grove City led 43-35 at halftime and quickly stretched the lead to 14. Waynesburg closed to within 57-47 with 11 minutes left but the Wolverines broke the game open with a 12-2 run. Gibson and Gerber both hit threes during the run while Carr added a pair of baskets.

Josh Parisi led Waynesburg with 21 points and a game-high nine rebounds. Grove City out-rebounded Waynesburg, 35-29. Grove City committed 17 turnovers while Waynesburg had 14.

It is the third straight season that the teams have met in the PAC quarterfinals. Waynesburg eliminated Grove City two years ago, 67-60, while Grove City earned an 89-60 quarterfinal win in 2007. Grove City is now 8-4 all-time in the PAC Championship Tournament.

Carr moved into 15th place on Grove City's all-time scoring list. He also made his 200th career three-point goal. Carr now has 202 threes, the most in Grove City history.

Grove City will host a PAC semifinal game Thursday night at 7 p.m.

Box Score


1-Jeff Claypool (1965-69)    2,234
2-Bob Crow (1979-83)         1,450
3-Joe Buckley (1985-89)      1,413
4-John Cochran (1966-70)     1,352
5-Tanner Prosser (1999-2003) 1,263
6-Mark Timko (1991-94)       1,255
7-Fred Schwab (1970-74)      1,215
8-Deron Ryan (1984-88)       1,205
9-Tim Mokma (1987-91)        1,197
10-Bill Fox (1975-79)        1,192
11-Tom Robinson (1957-62)    1,181
12-Mark Smith (1979-83)      1,171
13-Jim Wherley (1993-97)     1,162
14-Bart Niemeyer (1958-62)   1,145
15-SHAWN CARR (2004-present) 1,098
16-Benjamin Davis (1990-94)  1,094
17-Dave Marovich (1962-65)   1,072
18-Ron Arrington (1962-66)   1,069
19-Ryan Eller (2001-05)      1,068
20-Mike Donahoe (1975-79)    1,051
21-Dan Von Handorf (1992-96) 1,029
22-Dutch Leonard (1955-59)   1,013

Go back to Wolverine Basketball Home Page