February 14, 2009

Grove City rallies to complete sweep of Waynesburg

WAYNESBURG, Pa. -- The Grove City College men's basketball team used an 8-0 run in the final 68 seconds Saturday night to earn a 76-69 win over host Waynesburg in Presidents' Athletic Conference action at Rudy Marisa Field House.

Grove City (11-10, 5-6 PAC) took the lead for good with 1:08 left when senior guard Joe McCoy (Newark, Ohio/Newark) drilled a three-point goal to give Grove City a 71-69 lead. Moments later, McCoy doubled the lead with a pair of free throws.

Junior center Andy O'Keefe (Perry, Ohio/Perry) sewed up the win by hitting a pair of free throws with seven seconds left. O'Keefe led five Grove City players in double figures with a game-high 18 points. Senior guard Ryan Gibson (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover) fired in 15 points while McCoy and freshman Brett Matson (Wexford, Pa./Pine-Richland) both tossed in 11 points. Senior forward John Scheller (Frisco, Texas/Hoover, Ohio) added 10 points on 4-for-4 shooting.

Grove City scored 51 second-half points after shooting 63 percent (19 of 30) from the field over the final 20 minutes. The Wolverines trailed 34-25 at halftime but used 5-for-7 marksmanship from on three-point attempts to rally. A Matson three midway through the half gave Grove City its first lead of the second half, 53-52.

For the game, Grove City shot 50 percent (28 for 56), including a 7-for-12 effort on three-point goals. Waynesburg shot 47 percent (27 of 58). Dan Happe led Waynesburg with 17 points.

Sophomore guard Caleb Orchard (Loudonville, Ohio/Loudonville) pulled in a career-high eight rebounds, helping the Wolverines own a 33-28 edge on the glass. Matson and freshman guard Cody Fleeger (Butler, Pa./Butler) both had four assists each. Fleeger also had four steals.

Grove City had dropped its last four games prior to Saturday's win. Overall, Grove City has won six straight against Waynesburg. The Wolverines also defeated Waynesburg 80-68 in Grove City January 14.

The Wolverines wrap up the home portion of the 2008-09 season Wednesday night against Saint Vincent at 8 p.m.

Box Score


1-Jeff Claypool (1965-69)    2,234
2-Bob Crow (1979-83)         1,450
3-Joe Buckley (1985-89)      1,413
4-John Cochran (1966-70)     1,352
5-Tanner Prosser (1999-2003) 1,263
6-Mark Timko (1991-94)       1,255
7-Fred Schwab (1970-74)      1,215
8-Deron Ryan (1984-88)       1,205
9-Tim Mokma (1987-91)        1,197
10-Bill Fox (1975-79)        1,192
11-Tom Robinson (1957-62)    1,181
12-Mark Smith (1979-83)      1,171
13-Jim Wherley (1993-97)     1,162
14-Bart Niemeyer (1958-62)   1,145
15-Shawn Carr (2004-2008)    1,121
16-Benjamin Davis (1990-94)  1,094
17-Dave Marovich (1962-65)   1,072
18-Ron Arrington (1962-66)   1,069
19-Ryan Eller (2001-05)      1,068
20-Mike Donahoe (1975-79)    1,051
21-Dan Von Handorf (1992-96) 1,029
22-RYAN GIBSON (2005-present)1,0
23-Dutch Leonard (1955-59)   1,013

Go back to Wolverine Basketball Home Page