December 30, 2014

Wolverines charge past OSU-Lima

BLUFFTON, Ohio -- The Grove City College men's basketball team closed 2014 by rolling to a 98-62 victory over Ohio State-Lima in the consolation game of Bluffton College's McDonald's of Bluffton Tournament Tuesday afternoon at the Sommer Center.

Four Wolverines scored in double figures, led by All-Tournament selection Mitch Marmelstein (San Juan Capistrano, Calif./St. Margaret's) with 22 points. The senior guard went 7 for 10 from the field and also grabbed eight rebounds.

Senior forward Brian Giesler (Harrisville, Pa./Slippery Rock) pumped in 12 points while junior swingman Caleb Knudsen (Saylorsville, Pa./Pius X) and freshman center Andrew Beckman (Shelby, Mich./Shelby) both added 10 points.

Knudsen added 10 rebounds and four assists while Beckman grabbed seven boards, helping Grove City (5-5) own a 57-23 edge on the glass. Senior guard J.T. Schwartz (Pittsburgh, Pa./Shaler) distributed seven assists and added three steals while freshman guard Tyler Constein (Lancaster, Pa./Lancaster Mennonite) tallied four assists.

Grove City took control of the game by closing the first half with a 13-3 run over the final four minutes. The Wolverines then broke open the game in the second half by embarking on a 25-2 surge. Grove City held OSU-Lima (1-13) without a field goal for over nine minutes in the second half.

For the game, Grove City shot 36 of 67 (54 percent) from the field. The Wolverines held OSU-Lima to a 17-for-58 (29 percent) effort from the field. Larry Fuqua III led Lima with 26 points.

Grove City opens 2015 with a Presidents' Athletic Conference clash with archrival Geneva at 3 p.m. Saturday in the Grove City College Arena.

Box Score


1-Jeff Claypool (1965-69)            2,234
2-Bob Crow (1979-83)                 1,450
3-Joe Buckley (1985-89)              1,413
4-John Cochran (1966-70)             1,352
5-Tanner Prosser (1999-2003)         1,263
6-Mark Timko (1991-94)               1,255
7-Fred Schwab (1970-74)              1,215
8-Deron Ryan (1984-88)               1,205
9-Tim Mokma (1987-91)                1,197
10-Bill Fox (1975-79)                1,192
11-Tom Robinson (1957-62)            1,181
12-Mark Smith (1979-83)              1,171
13-Andy O'Keefe (2006-10             1,164
14-Jim Wherley (1993-97)             1,162
15-Bart Niemeyer (1958-62)           1,145
16-MITCH MARMELSTEIN (2011-Pres.)    1,142
17-Shawn Carr (2004-08)              1,121
18-Brett Matson (2008-12)            1,108
19-Benjamin Davis (1990-94)          1,094
20-Ryan Gibson (2005-09)             1,079
21-Dave Marovich (1962-65)           1,072
22-Ron Arrington (1962-66)           1,069
23-Ryan Eller (2001-05)              1,068
24-Mike Donahoe (1975-79)            1,051
25-Dan Von Handorf (1992-96)         1,029
26-Dutch Leonard (1955-59)           1,013

Go back to Wolverine Basketball Home Page