March 18, 2006


MINNEAPOLIS -- Grove City College sophomore Caleb Courage (Shippensburg, Pa./Shippensburg) became the first Grove City men's swimmer to capture a national title Saturday night as he won the 100 freestyle in a College-record time of 44.51 seconds.

Courage, a five-time All-American in his career, entered the finals as the top seed after posting a time of 44.84 seconds in the preliminaries.

Thursday night, Courage helped Grove City's 200 free relay place second with a time of 1:21.99. Individually, Courage took third in the 50 free Thursday night in 20.63.

As a freshman, Courage placed fourth in the 100 at the 2005 national championships in Holland, Mich.

In 1981, Chris van de Mark won the national title in both 1- and 3-meter diving. He also won the 1-meter title in 1982. Dan Young won the 1-meter national title in 1983 while Clark Johnson won the 1-meter NCAA title in 1984.

Go back to Wolverine Swimming and Diving Home Page