February 22, 2012

Grove City dominates All-PAC squad

WEXFORD, Pa. -- Sixteen members of the Grove City College men's swimming and diving team earned All-Presidents' Athletic Conference honors in recognition of their respective performances at last week's conference championships, held during Grove City's James E. Longnecker Invitational.

Nine Wolverine swimmers earned First Team recognition and seven received placement on the conference's Second Team.

Senior Ben Bowser (Stow, Ohio/Stow-Munroe Falls) earned the conference's Most Valuable Performer award after recording three wins at the James E. Longnecker Invitational. He won the 200 butterfly in a school-, meet- and conference-record time of 1 minute, 52.04 seconds. Bowser also prevailed in the 200 individual medley (1:53.43) and 400 individual medley.

His time of 4:02.83 in the 400 IM also set new school, meet, pool and conference records. He provisionally qualified for the NCAA Division III Championships in all three events.

Senior Clay Beckner (Chambersburg, Pa./Chambersburg), sophomore David Bossert (Colorado Springs, Colo./Pine Creek), sophomore C.P. Dehli (Moneta, Va./Staunton River), junior Eric Fairchild (Corry, Pa./Corry), senior Collin Foster (Columbus, Ind./Columbus East), sophomore Louis Gabriele (Mahwah, N.J./Don Bosco Prep), senior Kirk Gagliardo (Gurnee, Ill./Warren Township) and senior Nick Hamilton (Crescent, Pa./Moon) joined Bowser on the First Team.

Freshman Jim Bossert (Colorado Springs, Colo./Pine Creek), senior Josh Kim (Frederick, Md./New Life Christian), freshman Richie Klimek (Oakdale, Pa./South Fayette), sophomore E.J. Leuschner (Holland, Mich./Holland Christian), freshman Ben Satre (Hockessin, Del./Homeschooled), junior Ian Smyth (Troy, Pa./Troy) and junior Adam Walker (Lexington, Ky./Homeschooled) all earned Second Team status.

Beckner joined Bowser, Foster and Gagliardo on Grove City's victorious 200 medley relay team (1:32.97) that provisionally qualified for the NCAA meet. Beckner also earned runner-up honors in both the 100 (57.83) and 200 breaststroke (2:08.45).

David Bossert won the 1650 in 16:40.84 and added a fourth-place finish in the 500 (4:47.96). Dehli joined Fairchild, Gagliardo and Hamilton on the Wolverines' winning 400 free relay (3:04.95) that set a new meet and pool record. That same quartet also won the 200 free relay in 1:24.13.

In addition to his free relay wins, Fairchild also earned second in the 50 free (21.00) and 100 free (46.39). He also placed third in the 200 free with a time of 1:43.12.

Foster contributed to the 200 medley relay victory and also scored points in the 100 backstroke with a 12th-place time of 56.06 seconds. Gabriele, meanwhile, won the 200 breaststroke in a school-record time of 2:07.11. Gabriele also took fourth in the 100 breaststroke (58.72) and 200 individual medley (1:57.38).

Gagliardo swept the sprints for Grove City winning the 50 free (20.95), 100 free (45.65) and 200 free (1:41.39). He provisionally qualified for the national meet in the 100 and 200 free events. Gagliardo also contributed to wins in the 200 and 400 free relays and the 200 medley relay.

Hamilton augmented his free relay victories with a third-place finish in the 500 (4:47.78). He also took fourth in the 100 (47.76) and 200 free (1:43.34).

Jim Bossert posted top-five finishes in the 200 back (1:56.61), 200 IM (1:57.51) and 200 free (1:45.94). Kim earned second in the 400 IM (4:15.83) and third in the 1650 (16:58.65). Klimek took fourth in three-meter diving (332.75) and fifth on the one-meter board (311.70) while Leuschner placed fifth in the 1650 (17:09.13) and 500 (4:48.06).

Satre earned fourth in the 200 butterfly (1:57.25) and Smyth recorded a seventh-place finish in the 400 IM (4:22.89). Walker earned third in the 400 individual medley (4:17.40).

Grove City won its fifth straight conference championship. Head coach Dave Fritz earned the conference's Coach of the Year award.

The All-PAC teams are determined through a formula that reflects athletes' performances in individual and relay events at the conference championships.

Go back to Wolverine Swimming and Diving Home Page