November 1, 2008

Wolverines win 18th straight league title

WEST CHESTER, Ohio -- The Grove City College men's cross country team captured its 18th consecutive Presidents' Athletic Conference title Saturday afternoon at the PAC Championships, hosted by Thomas More College at the Voice of America Park.

The Wolverines accumulated just 18 team points in winning the conference title. Thiel finished second with 68 points, followed by Westminster (75), Washington & Jefferson (78), Thomas More (150) and Waynesburg (158).

Sophomore Garrett Cichowitz (Colorado Springs, Colo./Palmer) earned PAC MVP honors after placing second overall in the field. Cichowitz covered the 8-kilometer course in 25 minutes, 58 seconds. Saint Vincent's Adam Smith won the individual race with a time of 25:24. However, due to Saint Vincent's provisional status in NCAA Division III, Saint Vincent athletes are not eligible for PAC postseason honors.

Senior Dan Spaulding (Spencerport, N.Y./Churchville-Chili) joined Cichowitz on the PAC's First Team by finishing fifth overall. Spaulding posted a time of 26:36.

Three other Grove City runners earned First Team honors. Senior Nathan Johnson (Eugene, Ore./Sheldon) took seventh with a time of 26:48. Classmate Brett Kelly (Abingdon, Md./Bel Air) placed ninth (27:12) while junior Frankie Hourigan (Ijamsville, Md./Urbana) finished 10th overall with a time of 27:13.

Senior Timothy Su (Lancaster, Pa./Conestoga Valley) and sophomore Joe Dorris (Philadelphia, Pa./Upper Dublin) both earned All-PAC Second Team status. Su finished 14th in 27:32 while Dorris took 17th with a time of 27:47.

Grove City will compete in the NCAA Mideast Regional Championships November 15 at Waynesburg University.


Go to Wolverine Cross Country Home Page