Box Score                                                                                                                                             February 28, 2003

Lady Wolverines advance to PAC championship

WASHINGTON, Pa.  -- The Grove City College women's basketball team advanced to the finals of the Presidents' Athletic Conference tournament with a 77-69 victory over third-seeded Waynesburg Friday night at Washington and Jefferson's Henry Memorial Center.

Sophomore guard Abby Moose (New Wilmington, Pa./Mercer) fired in a game-high 25 points, including five three-pointers, to lead second-seeded Grove City (12-13) while Cara Denniston (Grove City, Pa./Grove City) pumped in 14 points.

Denniston also set a new Grove City College record by playing in her 105th consecutive game.

Grove City led by as many as 12 points in the second half before the Yellow Jackets battled back to within 64-61 at the 3:00 mark. However, two Denniston free throws and a Moose three quickly pushed the advantage back to eight.

Unlike the two regular-season meetings between the teams, Grove City got off to a quick start and led 16-6 five minutes into the game. Moose ignited the run with a pair of threes while Denniston and Christy Faller (Ijamsville, Md./Urbana) each added baskets. Waynesburg eventually charged back to take a 35-32 lead with 2:30 remaining but the Lady Wolverines countered with a half-ending 11-0 run.

A three-point play from Denniston started the spurt while a Moose deuce gave Grove City the lead. Jocelyn Kempema (Fort Atkinson, Wisc./Edgewood) drained two free throws while Moose followed with another jumper. A Faller score in the final seconds gave the Wolverines a 43-35 halftime lead.

Grove City committed just 11 turnovers. Moose had five assists and three steals while Faller and Leigh LeGare (Copperas Cove, Texas/Copperas Cove) each had eight rebounds.

Candice Eyerman led Waynesburg with 21 points on seven three-pointers.

Moose earned First Team accolades from the PAC while LeGare was a Second Team pick in voting conducted by the conference coaches. Faller was an honorable mention selection while head coach Melissa Lamie shared co-coach of the year honors with Waynesburg mentor Terry Acker.

Go back to Lady Wolverine Basketball Home Page